Thank You for Your Support!


thank-you-car-d1I am so grateful to Carolyn Hughes, from “The Hurt Healer,” for nominating me for the Reality Blog Award! I accept it with pride and sincere appreciation for the recognition, but also for her continued support and comfort that she so kindly gives after each one of my posts. Thank You Carolyn! If you haven’t checked out her blog, put it on your “To Do” list. It is a must read! http://carolynhughesthehurthealer.wordpress.com/

REALITY: Real, Energizing, Amazing, Lovely, Inspiring, Touching, Yippee!

Accepting the Reality Award comes with a few guidelines, which I am happy to follow.     These include answering the following 5 questions:

  1. If you could change one thing what would you change?  If I could change anything, I would want to inject everyone with a boost of compassion and regard for others. When people feel understood, they feel less isolated. I wish everyone knew that there was someone in their corner cheering them on!
  2. If you could repeat any age, what would it be? Well, I have spent years 16-30 chronically ill, which equates to a lot of time in bed, doctor’s offices, and hospitals. I would love to have been able to spend those years enjoying the full college experience, going to graduate school, and traveling. I would have also hoped to have been blessed with a husband and family of my own, by now.
  3. What one thing really scares you? The lack of empathy and tolerance that people have for those who are different from them. People forget that we are humans first and “Americans” (fill in your nationality), “Christians” (fill in your religion). “our occupations,” or “our races” second. Although created from good, the human race seems to be so hostile towards each other. Instead of looking for their similarities, they focus on only their differences and sometimes declare hate because of those differences. Intolerance and hatred scare me. Hopelessness scares me. Living in pain for the next 30 years of my life scares me.
  4. What is one dream you have not completed, and do you think you’ll be able to complete it? I have several dreams that have not come to fruition. But the first in line is completing my graduate degree in Humanistic/Transpersonal Psychology, with a focus on creative processes and social transformation through community development and peace-keeping and conflict resolution. I would love to work internationally with children living in under-developed countries, who need early intervention for developmental or emotional/social reasons, and create a program that incorporates the ARTS and imaginative play for healing and educating. I don’t know if I will be able to complete that schooling due to the unreliable nature of my illnesses, but I am certainly going to try.
  5. If you could be someone else for one day, who would it be? I wouldn’t want to be anyone else. I would love to be a better version of myself, but in general I like who I am and what I stand for…… but, because I am a huge animal lover, I have definitely been curious, at times, to know what my fur babies are thinking. And how lovely would it be to just eat, sleep and lay around all day, everyday, without any guilt?

So now that you know a little more about me, I now get to nominate other bloggers for the REALITY Blog Award. Each of these blogs are special in their own way and I encourage you to check them out. You never know where you will find a chuckle, a sense of peace, or even a new comrade!

(In no particular order)

  1. The Diarrhea Diaries: Living with Crohn’s Disease (http://livingsick.com/) Christina, the author of this blog, is so brave and honest about her life as a “Crohnie.” When I read her posts, it’s as though she is writing my thoughts. She brings her own brand of humor to every post, but more than that, she sacrifices some of her own private moments so that other “crohnies” like me, know that we are not alone.
  2. Caring for Crohn’s (http://caringforcrohns.com/) is a blog written by Rebecca, and she is the wife of a man with Crohn’s Disease. This blog is written by a caregiver, a person who often gets overlooked or underappreciated. If there is something you need to know about this disease, you will find it here. Rebecca has a plethora of resources and she is determined to make the general public aware of this disease. Most importantly, her goal is for the blog to become a place of support for caregivers of those with this disease.
  3. MWF Seeking BFF (http://mwfseekingbff.com/) I love this blog. Rachel chronicles the difficulties in making lasting, close friendships as an adult. Fun Fact: Rachel was able to turn her blog into a book!
  4. Marshmallow Mondays (http://marshmallowmondays.wordpress.com/) is a blog about family. Admittedly, this family is close to my heart, but the author does more than write a “family update” blog. The author started this blog as a way to build a special bond with her step son. Her goal was to instill the love of reading and writing that she has, in him. Her blog focuses on the achievements of her children and her life as a “stay at home mom,” and that balance that all women face, of juggling being everything to everyone, and still finding time for yourself. She is passionate about healthy living and raising productive children. As a graduate with an english degree, she aspires to write children’s books. She even has some of her drafts on her blog. Check them out!
  5. The Hurt Healer (http://carolynhughesthehurthealer.wordpress.com/)  I know, I am probably not suppose to nominate the person who just nominated me, but her blog is my favorite. She expresses herself impeccably, never giving too much or too little information about herself, and she always has a message of hope and encouragement at the end of each of her posts. I will be looking forward to that book Carolyn!

reality-award1For the nominees – here are the guidelines in accepting the award.

  1. Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back to them.
  3. Answer the 5 questions presented.
  4. Nominate up to 20 blogs for the award and notify them on their blogs.
  5. Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere.

Again, I just want to say a heartfelt thank you to Carolyn Hughes from the “Hurt Healer.” This award made my night! It might seem small to most, but when you spend 90% of your day in pain and/or in the bathroom, it doesn’t take much to brighten your day!

308088_503214966358092_394473002_n

2 thoughts on “Thank You for Your Support!

Leave a Reply

