I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings


Yesterday, I was doing a writing exercise to figure out the appropriate word or concept to describe my overall feelings about my life. So after conjuring up the word “caged,” I proceeded to type it into the google search box, and low and behold, Maya Angelou’s, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, popped up. How had I not come across this poem before? After reading it, I knew that there was no better way for me to express how I feel about my situation, than by simply sharing the poem that ended up being the inspiration behind my blog.

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

By

*Maya Angelou*

The free bird leaps on the back of the wind

 and floats downstream till the current ends

 and dips his wings in the orange sun rays

and dares to claim the sky.

But a bird that stalks down his narrow cage

can seldom see through his bars of rage

 his wings are clipped and his feet are tied

so he opens his throat to sing.

The caged bird sings with fearful trill

of the things unknown but longed for still

and his tune is heard on the distant hill

for the caged bird sings of freedom.

The free bird thinks of another breeze

on trade winds soft through the sighing trees

and the fat worms waiting on a dawn-bright lawn

and he names the sky his own.

But a caged bird stands on the grave of dreams

 his shadow shouts on a nightmare scream

 his wings are clipped and his feet are tied

so he opens his throat to sing.

The caged bird sings with a fearful trill

of things unknown but longed for still

and his tune is heard on the distant hill

for the caged bird sings of freedom. 

I often feel like the caged bird…..trapped. Like the bird in the cage, I sit trapped in this body; knowing that if I was just set free from all that is holding me back, I could accomplish so many things, as well as contribute to the world. I could thrive. But instead, I, like the caged bird, stand on a grave of dreams. Dreams of graduate school, dreams of a husband and children of my own, of a successful career…. my dreams are endless. Unfortunately, for me, they might always be just dreams. So, I will just continue to sing; sing through the pain, and sing with the hope of freedom.

 

One thought on “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

  1. Pingback: Featured Blog « Marshmallow Mondays

Leave a Reply

